The Scottish Government has announced that a number of Local Authority areas in Scotland will move into ‘Level Four’ Covid-19 restrictions from 6pm on Friday 20th November until at least Friday 11th December.  The areas moving into Level Four are listed at the bottom of this article, with the full list available on the Government website. 

Wallace Quinn will continue to operate at this time, using the Covid precautions we have had in place for a number of months how.  You can read our latest guidelines for clients at

Moving House, Buying and Selling Property is allowed in Level Four Restrictions

The Scottish Government’s moving home guidance makes it clear that all home moves are permitted, provided they can be carried out safely.  Businesses involved in supporting people to move home, such as solicitors and estate agents, can continue to operate.

What the moving home guidance says:

‘People can move home and undertake activities in connection with the purchase, sale, letting, or rental of a residential property including:

Visiting estate or letting agents, housing association or council offices, developer sales offices or show homes

Viewing a residential property to look for a property to buy or rent

Preparing a residental property to move in

Moving home

Visiting a residential property to undertake any activities required for the rental or sale of that property.

What about the construction industry?

The Scottish Government’s strategic framework document confirms that the construction industry can continue to operate in Level Four.

What are the Level Four Local Authorities?

City of Glasgow


East Renfrewshire


West Dunbartonshire

North Lanakrshire

South Lanarkshire

East Ayrshire

South Ayrshire


West Lothian

As always, if you have any concerns or questions, please discuss this with one of our team.